• For schools

  • Is the Trottibus Walking School Bus free?

    The Canadian Cancer Society (CCS) offers free guidance to schools that want to put in place a Trottibus Walking School Bus. The CCS’s main role is to train people responsible for the project, provide them will all the tools necessary, and help them recruit volunteers (as needed). The materials required for the safety of the participants is free (vest for volunteers). Some promotional tools and logistics can be ordered at a nominal cost.

  • For a school, what are the benefits of putting in place a Trottibus Walking School Bus?

    The smooth operation of the Trottibus Walking School Bus brings numerous benefits: there is less traffic around schools, pedestrian safety is increased, children concentrate better in the classroom, parents mobilize around a project that brings people together, and environments conducive to physical exercise are created.

  • How can I find out if the Trottibus Walking School Bus can be implemented in my school?

    You must first determine what the particular need of your school is to start a Trottibus Walking School Bus (health, safety, school bus not available, etc.).
    As taking children from home to school is the responsibility of parents, several of them must first express an interest in the Trottibus Walking School Bus and be willing to get involved in its implementation. A Canadian Cancer Society survey is available to measure parents’ interest level in getting involved and registering their children. This tool will also make it possible to have an idea of the number of children interested in joining the Trottibus Walking School Bus. The ideal is to have the support of your governing board before launching the Trottibus Walking School Bus.

  • Should the school meet certain conditions to qualify for the Canadian Cancer Society’s guidance and implement a Trottibus Walking School Bus?

    The Canadian Cancer Society (CCS) requires everyone walking with the children to undergo a criminal backround check, receive training on the principles of the Trottibus Walking School Bus (provided by the CCS), and wear a yellow vest (provided by the CCS).

Close

More questions?

• Pour les écoles

  • Est-ce que le Trottibus est gratuit?

    La Société canadienne du cancer (SCC) offre gratuitement un accompagnement aux écoles désireuses de mettre en place un Trottibus. Les principaux rôles de la SCC sont de former les responsables du projet, de leur fournir tous les outils nécessaires et de les aider à recruter de bénévoles (au besoin). Le matériel requis pour assurer la sécurité sur les trajets de marche est gratuit (dossard pour les bénévoles). Certains outils promotionnels et logistiques peuvent être commandés moyennant des coûts modiques.

  • Quels sont les avantages pour une école de mettre en place un Trottibus?

    Les avantages que représente le bon déroulement du Trottibus sont nombreux : diminution du nombre d‘automobiles autour des écoles, sécurité accrue pour les piétons, augmentation de la concentration des enfants en classe, mobilisation des parents autour d’un projet rassembleur et des milieux favorisant la pratique de l’activité physique.

  • Comment savoir si la mise en place du Trottibus est possible à mon école?

    Il faut d’abord déterminer quel est le besoin particulier pour démarrer un Trottibus (santé, sécurité, pas d’accessibilité à l’autobus scolaire, etc.).

    Comme le transport domicile-école des élèves relève de la responsabilité des parents, il faut d’abord que le Trottibus soit désiré par plusieurs d’entre eux et que ceux-ci puissent s’impliquer bénévolement dans les étapes de mise en place. Un sondage est fourni par la Société canadienne du cancer pour mesurer l’intérêt des parents à s’impliquer et aussi à inscrire leur enfant. Cet outil vous permettra également d’avoir un aperçu du nombre d’enfants intéressés à marcher en Trottibus. L’idéal est d’avoir l’appui du conseil d’établissement scolaire de votre école avant de démarrer le Trottibus.

  • Quelles sont les recommandations de la Société canadienne du cancer aux écoles qui désirent mettre en place un Trottibus?

    La Société canadienne du cancer (SCC) recommande que toutes les personnes qui accompagnent les enfants à pied soient soumises à une enquête de vérification d’antécédents judiciaires, qu’elles assistent à la formation sur les principes du Trottibus (fournie par la SCC) et qu’elles portent le dossard jaune (fourni par la SCC).

Close

D’autres questions ?